Animation docker observations

Hey.
Firstly, thanks to everyone involved in Krita 5’s development. you guys have done a great job.
As a professional animator, i switched to using Krita full time a few years ago now.
I just wanted to share a few things i noticed with the new animation docker.

• There seems to be a slight lag when switching between frames some times. It’s hard to pin point the problem exactly, but it has occured to me in larger clips, when perhaps the performance level dips a little. The frame kind of refuses to select, and there’s no indication of saving still occuring.

• Ideally, for workflow purposes, i’d like the option to have a separate animation settings menu. I am constantly switching my clip lengths while i cycle certain parts of an animation. It’s nice to be able to see the numbers for the start and end frame without having to enter the menus. Perhaps an option to add them next to the frame register? I know there is a visual area represented in the timeline, but it’s not ideal. The darkened areas outside of the current clip length could be made customizable in colour. Also an option to tun all frames outside a selection a certain colour(eg red) instead of a darker version of the current frame colour would help in quick visual identification.

• When changing the colour of a frame marker, the choice is only changed once you click off the menu, and is counter intuitive.

I’d also like to see a larger area above the timeline to scrub the animation. Sometimes i grab the docker by accident and other times highlight a section of frames, as the area to scrub is very thin.

I know some of these things seem small, but speed and workflow are important when working for clients.

I am grateful for the team’s hard work, and i look forward to future releases.

Thanks

4 Likes

Scrubbing area is tiny yes yes.

1 Like