Animation - Frame Cycles

Hello, I have looked around for information on this feature and while I have seen a few people discuss it, most of the responses to the suggestion have been concerningly negative if not ignored. I do feel like this would be a very useful and basic feature that helps greatly enhance the workflow of animation as there are situations where you would want to test repeating animation as a backdrop while a more complex animation happens in the foreground. This feature is seen in “RoughAnimator” for the Smartphone and I think I have an idea of how to build something like that into Krita.

I am a software engineer and have programming knowledge so I would be more than happy to volunteer to build the feature in myself, but would need to see how to pick up the project’s source and what the protocol is for creating feature branches (Blender has a similar document detailing how to pull the source code, develop a feature and set up a pull request).

As an artist, I see a lot of potential in this software that was formerly untapped, and as a software developer, I can’t stand the phrase “It can’t be done because it’s too complicated” without at least giving it a try. If there’s any direction I can be pointed, I’ll happily develop this feature myself for everyone.

The basic plan I have is creating a “Loop Frame” that copies the frame range and automatically duplicates them for the duration of the Loop frame. The frames will repeat until the loop frame terminates, and as I saw suggestions for, the order of the loop could be forward, reverse, or ping-pong. I can imagine it should be a matter of taking those frames in the array that stores the loop and copying them by referencing the position and repeating those layers on playback (so it acts more like a pointer to the array position).

I have seen that the codebase itself could make this difficult, but hopefully I can take a crack at it.

2 Likes