Color Picking slow when Advanced Color Selector is visible?

I just started painting again, at least a little.

I’m using the latest nightly build on Windows 10.

When I sample color from the Canvas, it isn’t instantly sampled, but rather takes about a second or so to “write the color to my ram”. It feels like that anyways.

When I hide the Advanced Color Selector however, sampling color from any other color picker or the painting itself works instantly again. I didn’t even deactivate the ACS, just opened another tab with another color selector.

Tested it with:

• Small Color Selector
  • Pigment.O
  • Specific Color Selector
  • Swatches Palette

All of them work instantaneously.
Can somebody reproduce this, is it a bug?
So we could file it as such.

Thanks!

With the Dec 16 5.1.0-prealpha .zip package on Windows 10, I don’t see any lag when using the Advanced Colour Selector to select colours or when using the Ctrl colour picker to pick colours from the canvas. I used both mouse and stylus with no lag noticeable.
When I slide the picker cursor over a colour gradient, the ACS Hue indicator and SV location dot move instantly (or very quickly).

1 Like

I wonder what’s the matter with this. Can you tell me your specs? I think, don’t know for sure, that maybe it runs a bit faster on Intel CPUs, I have that feeling because my home PC has almost the same specs as the one at work, and at work the Intel machine is a tiny bit more flawless in some applications. Same GPU, both have the same SSDs.

Here I have an AMD Ryzen 1700, 16gb Ram and a NVidia 1060 with 6gb.

Hi

Do you have a 4K monitor?

If yes, if you reduce window size to a quarter of monitor surface, do you still have the problem?

Grum999

1 Like

Hi Grum, yes I have a 4k monitor. I think it is a bit faster that way, but it’s not gone completely. I also changed my resolution down to FullHD to test it. Also didn’t make much of a difference, but maybe a tiny little bit better.