Direction of drag for Zoom and brush size adjustment

Hi, I am quite new to Krita and I found that using Shift+ Drag to adjust brush size and Ctrl+Space + Drag to adjust canvas zoom both are limited to dragging in certain directions. Vertical for zoom or Horizontal for brush. In my opinion, the drag should support any direction. It could just calculate the distance from the ‘drag from’ position so that user could just drag to whatever direction they get use to.

Thanks

3 Likes

A Wishlist bug report? :slight_smile:

I think they make the brush size drag direction to be horizontal just to match the brush size bar UI but it is not necessary. I will consider this as an improvement suggestion. Don’t want to abuse their bug list.

1 Like

Putting genuine improvement suggestions in as Wishlist reports is not abuse of the system.
I’d agree with your suggestion and I think up/right should be increase and down/left should be decrease.
There is the question of what happens in the up/left and down/right quadrants but that could depend on which tool you’re using.

2 Likes

added:
https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=419892

2 Likes

I totally agree! This would be a great change! :grin:

or drag up and down could do another action (i think photoshop does this) for exemple left-right for size and up-down for opacity or flow…

or drag up and down could do another action (i think photoshop does this) for example left-right for size and up-down for opacity or flow…

It is an interesting idea. If this is a setting manually configured by user and they know what they are doing that could be fine for them.