Help with Krita performance on Linux and Windows

Hello there!

Well, I’m a fulltime freelancer illustrator and I’m really interested in getting my work done (or most of it) on open source or free softwares/OS. So I’m testing Krita in Windows and Linux. The thing is, I mostly work with big files (A2 size with 300 dpi and 48x48cm with 300/600 dpi) and I tend to use a significant amount of layers. My laptop is capable of doing this kind of work with no issues on Photoshop and CSP but in Krita its gets extremely laggy when working with big files. I faced this issue both on Windows and Linux, double checked the drivers on both systems too, everything seems fine with that. I checked the performance settings and allocated 80% of my RAM to Krita, tried both OpenGL and Direct3D on Windows (on Linux i just have the OpenGL option), even tried to disable canvas acelaration and nothing improved my performance with large files.

Someone have faced a similar issue with large canvas?
I’m really excited to learn and work with Krita!

Ill leave my computer specs bellow in case someone can help :slight_smile:

• Acer Nitro 5

• Intel Core i5-8300H 8ª gen

• NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 with 4 GB gDDR5 VRAM

• 16GB of RAM DDR4

• 240GB nVMe SSD and 1TB HDD

• Windows 10 and Pop OS 20.04 LTS

Thx!!!

The performance of Krita is noticeably better on Linux than on windows due to Linuxs’ file system being better. I use only Linux so can’t compare recent version of krta on windows with Linux.

I used to have 16 gb ram and I have worked on documents of dimensions like - 148 in x 108 in (12ft x 9 ft approx) It was slow and not instant. I started to get to more and more work of such kind hence I upgraded to 32 gb ram and it has significantly helped me. The main issue was my ram was getting filled and the program started to swap. with 32 gb ram I have some ram left and the program performs better than what it used.