Krita for Pixel Art

Hey, I’ve been using Krita for pixel art since 2018 and after the latest update it’s borderline unusable for pixel art in general. I’ll be updating the list over time as I come up on bugs or features that hinders the process more than it helps. As for now, these are some of the more annoying bugs/features I’ve come upon. Do understand this is all from a pixel artist’s perspective.

1. The pixel brush now snaps to the grid

This is very annoying as no stroke can now be smooth or done in a single movement. I’m sure some people may prefer this but from the pixel artists I’ve talked to, they’ve all said it’s annoying.

Now I have found 2 different ways to get by this, but they all create other problem.
we could either -

• Remove the sharpness option in the from the brush itself

This method stops the cursor from snapping to the grid, and keeps the flow smooth. BUT, when we try to use any other tool apart from the brush tool, (eg. Line tool, Polygon tool, Rectangle tool etc) the width of the brush starts acting up. For example if I have the brush size at 1,3,5 or any odd number the dedicated size of the line or whatever is drawn becomes a single pixel more. As seen below

This isn’t even the only problem. All the tools start putting random orphan pixels on the end of the lines.

• Change the cursor options where the Outline Shape and Cursor Shape

In this method, once again if we change the outline shape to no preview, sure enough there is no snapping to grid because well, there is nothing to snap to grid. But this creates another problem where as if we have any of the cursor shape, then the cursor itself becomes so incredibly small you cant even notice it at times. Plus if the background color in question is the same then it’s near invisible. None of the cursor shape is usable for pixel perfect precision, which you know, we need here. This method would have worked if there was a square outlined shape to work with.