Krita lagging terribly

Hello! I’ve been using Krita for a few years now and ran into a problem last night. The application began running terribly slow, when I use the overview it lags, moving a layer takes a few seconds to move, there’s a huge delay with brush strokes. Overall I can’t really use it right now because of the issue. The odd thing is, when I tried fixing it using configure krita, it runs smoothly…but only when I’m fixing the settings. I’ve tried change certain settings but nothing really seems to help. Any help would be great! Thanks!

:slight_smile: Hello @Falcostitan and welcome to the forum!

Since you seem to have been able to use Krita for years without these delays, something must have changed in your system. Since software like Krita does not change on its own, the problem affects Krita, but it is not Krita that is the cause, it is this change. We have to find out what is the cause.
It is often the case that a driver or system update has taken place in such incidents, have you noticed anything like that?
How big is the image in pixels as well as in megabytes, how much RAM has your PC?

Please tell us which operating system and which version of Krita you are using, in case of issues like this it would be great if it would be possible for you to show the situation with a small video, you can upload it, depending on the size, here or e.g. on YouTube.

Sorry, that’s a lot of questions, I know.

Michelist

This is a computer translation am busy right now, please excuse. I’ll check back later, maybe others can step in to help or have additional ideas, things I may have overlooked.

1 Like

Thanks for helping me out! I haven’t noticed anything with driver or system updates.
I use the the most recent updated Krita (although I just updated it a few hours ago to see if that would help the issue but it didn’t) and I use windows 10 on a surface pro.