Potential tool for textile designers

Hi, I just discovered Krita & absolutely love the program. I’m a textile designer & what intrigues me the most is the wraparound feature which works better then any textile program I have worked with (to put it mildly) . Although square repeats are quite often used to make it fully functional (and a killer application) for a textile designer it would need the the same ability but with half-drops (half-drop repeats also called brick repeats).The half-drop repeat by itself would make this the go-to tool for textile designers however off the top of my head Textile Designers also quite often use the following features:

1. Ability to work in indexed color mode (convert to indexed color & then ability to change colors. Also being able to change or simply mix colors with a HSB color picker would be helpful.
  2. Ability to work completely flat which means resizing, drawing (with pressure sensitivity) and rotating an image so the image stays completely flat. If there was a default Nearest Neighbor function that would be fantastic.
  3. Ability to print. Also an ability to print that’s similar to the old Photoshop CS through CS4 where I can print a selected area (just print the area that was selected by a marquee. Over the past 30 years I’ve found that the companies I work with only want to see the work printed out before they approve a design.
    Also I am available to any developer who wants to know anything about designing textiles and wants KRITA to have this function. I’ve been designing Textiles using CAD software since 1990 (with U4ia, Info Design & then Photoshop) & have a lot to share if any developer is interested. Thanks, Frederick Chipkin
2 Likes

I really like the idea with half-drops, since it will be useful for a lot more people than just textile designers :grin: Could be super useful for game sprites, pixelart or backgrounds! Great feature request!