Queen of Birds

I have a five year goal of being able to do work like Edward Binkley or Alexey Egorov.

21 Likes

I love the woman and the bird on her head :slight_smile: Your shading on this is better than on some of the others.
I think your work is very Brom like - the beautifully weird or dark. Brom in turn owes much to Beardsley.

I do think the castle and figure on the left is a little distracting though, even though I love the textures. Something simpler there would really bring out the main figure. :pray:

Thanks Sharon, I’m already deep into the next one but I think you are right. I added the tree at the last moment so I will chop that puppy down and put the revision in my grey scale gallery. The bird started out being a scrub Jay and ended up being a “bird”. I’m still trying to learn to be calm when I paint since I have only been doing this for a few months and to say I am self taught is a misnomer…

1 Like

Wow, considering that you’re self taught and not been going long this is great!

1 Like

@Sineater Great update :slight_smile:

Her profile is far more arresting now and it’s a more compelling image in general.

1 Like

That’s a pro illustration to my eyes.

1 Like

Thanks Sharon, I left them both up so people could see your correction. Thanks for taking the time. We went to Edinburgh a few years ago. We saw some “Hairy Coos”.

1 Like

Thanks djwateman for taking the time to comment, I appreciate it. I ‘sold’ one drawing about forty years ago, a guy gave me a 15th row ticket to see Bob Dylan and The Band play. YIKES!

1 Like

That us a gorgeous painting full of compelling emotions and depth. I agree with @djwaterman…it looks like a pro painting to me.

1 Like

Thanks naloe, uh, I’m trying and that is very kind of you. By the way, and this is true, I got very discouraged about have way through , as I always do, and looking at your bravery to paint that Knight with a Dragon picture gave me confidence to just do it.

1 Like