Time spent on a painting

Hi everyone,

Just wondering how long you spend on each of your paintings on average? I ask this because I usually spend more than 10 hours per painting. For example, in order of latest to oldest my last three paintings have taken around 13 hours, 8 hours, and 35 hours.

Looking at Instagram with a lot of artists creating works in under 2 hours, I am wondering how long others take on their paintings. I think I am probably just slow since I am a beginner.

But would love to hear your thoughts anyway!

I am also a beginner in my opinion and I spend 8 hours (last three paintings average). Time is from krita document info. In reality I think that the time is maybe 11-12 hours, cause I also need time to figure out which brush I should use for different parts of the work. And for learning new techniques for the actual painting. But I feel that I am a very slow painter. I like to speed up the process.

1 Like

That is interesting, I also spend time changing brushes a lot, but I mostly just use the default blending brush in Krita that I have made a few tweaks to.

Since I also paint for personal pleasure, I don’t really put much effort in speeding up my workflow as professional artists are forced to, and of course I lack the routine to get things right the first (or second) time too.

My artworks rarely take less than 6 hours, and not so rarely end up taking 24h or even more.

And that’s not even including the time I’m staring at my sketches an wonder what’s still wrong, or things I don’t even save because they didn’t work out as intended, so krita won’t recognize it as editing time.

1 Like

i don’t pay attention to how much time unless i have a deadline. I went through some of my recent pieces (i just recently discovered that Krita files save the time in the document - that’s pretty cool) - roughly the same amount of time - that are from blank paper to completion.
i want more – 8h 41m
can’t move – 7h 51m
The blue jay – 9h 38m