Vector layer?

Hello all. I am very new to all this digital art. I do use Photoshop and Affinity Photo fo working on some of my photos, but I am very basic with what I can do. Being in my 70’s and a bit thick when it comes to remembering things, or sorting things out, is the reason I am asking my first question. I promise not to pester you every day with questions.
I am having trouble with the vector layer. I have typed some words into a text box, but I am unable to resize the box. I can highlight the the corners of the bounding box, but it will not enlarge the box when I try to drag it. I can highlight each corner by pressing ‘control’, but still nothing happens. It will turn round, but not grow.
Another problem is I cannot fill a shape drawn on the vector layer. I can draw a rectangle or whatever, select it then click on the ‘texture box’ or the speech bubble selection, but nothing happens. I have tried to make sense of the help section, but all I get is highlighted text of what I have asked for in the search box, no real explanation. If I try to paint anything on the layer it tells me I need to be on a ‘paint layer’.
Am I going to get used to this do you think?
UPDATE. I think I have sorted the speech bubble part out. I have to drag the bubble from out of the selection box. But I still cannot alter the typed word by dragging the handles.

1 Like

Hello and welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

Your profile says that your operating system is Windows 8.1.
Which version number of krita are you using? It won’t make much, if any difference, but it’s always good to know.

I don’t know what you mean by that.
It’s often a very good idea to take a full screen screenshot (.png) and upload it (with the Upload icon, just above where you type your replies on the forum) so that everybody can see what you are seeing.