Your dev horror stories

Hi there, you may already know me as the artist who paints fluffy animals but I’m also a developer for many years, at least I used to.

I was reminded of a time in my early career when I had a similar experience to the one described in this post:

I noticed there are a few other developers on thins forum too (aside from the obvious krita devs), and I’m sure each of you have some interesting/funny/horror stories too, maybe you want to share? Since this is the Krita forum, of course I really would like to hear some stories from the Krita Team too. I bet they got more than one headache from one or the other API or wiered file format.

Of course I start with one of my own experiences (I have a lot) but this one is what the linked post reminded me of.

How I started to hate generating PDFs

I think it was about 10 ears ago, maybe 8. I worked for a advertisement company. Yes, one of those who track you online and try to sell you even more stuff based on your data. But my struggle with moral and ethics is another story. At that time I worked mostly with PHP on the back-end of our web-services. Tracking, yes, but also simple things like billing and stuff, later mostly APIs to third parties. One day we had to change our recipes, invoices and all those things because of legal changes. Nobody wanted to do the task so I took it assuming it was easy. Just changing a few PDFs couldn’t be that hard, right?

Well it could have been easy but we used a strange proprietary PDF library that was not only poorly documented but also weirdly inconsistent. I remember that it for example took sometimes pixels and sometimes points as sizes for doing seemingly the same things (and sometimes not) it was a mess. I found comments from colleagues to not touch some lines that seem to have no purpose otherwise it would break the PDF (which it did) and then I knew why nobody took the task. Every of my colleagues already battled and suffered with this, obviously.