Assistance for colour-blind artists

hi im sure its been asked before - im new to digital art programs - last time i did any art was over 35
years back.

i am colour blind, in that i can see certain colours but can’t name them and struggle to pick them
again - could there be a way to pick colours from a pallete that has the colour identified with a text flag
so you have red colour patch and the word red at the side of it,
so when you pick that colour it brings up a subset of variations around the
picked color. at the moment i set up a colour patch layer where i put colours i can’t name and then
i use the pickup tool to sample that colour. but it’s a pain sampling and the setting the brush back.

im sure there are many many people who are similar to me. it will take some thought over how to implenment it. - perhaps it’s already there and i havent seen it yet, only been using for a week or so.

thanks in advance

1 Like

The color palette in Krita already has some naming, unfortunately not in all the palettes. So far only “Default” and “Markers” seem to have named colors and the Markers palette only has them named after the color codes I know from my Copic markers. You can see the name by selecting them or in the mouse over text (which I was unable to capture on a screenshot for some reason).

I only knew one other artist with color blindness (had trouble with red and green). He used the color chanels to understand how much of a base color was present in the current color and for selecting colors.

Not optimal, I have to admit. But maybe it can help you too.

I think more assistance for color blind and other visual impaired artists would be a great addition. But it isn’t easy to come up with solutions for that. I could imagine that in your case it would be useful to have a docker that shows the channels all the time or a info box floating next to the cursor?

Hello and welcome to the forum :slight_smile: