Auto toggle "inherit alpha" for clipping mask layer from PSD

First of all, thank you for this great software.

Background Story

I am a game developer and I often receive game arts from freelance in PSD file format either export from PS or other drawing software such as CSP. In order to import the art to game engine or animation software, I need to export the PSD into images (some layers) using Photoshop script. The problem is I don’t really use Photoshop and I want to skip Photoshop completely from my workflow. Thus, I am trying to use Krita as a tool to export PSD to game sprites. However there is a little problem loading psd with clipping mask layers.

About the suggestion

Current krita can already open PSD but the clipping mask mechanism is lost.
I found that I could manually fix it by grouping the base pixel layer and the clipped layers above to a group and manually toggle the “Inherit Alpha” for some layers. But for large complex PSD file, the task become impossible because it is too much and too hard to tell which layers should toggle “Inherit Alpha”.

So my suggestion is to have the PSD loading logic automatically toggle the “Inherit Alpha” and preferably auto group them if needed. It will definitely make Krita more PSD friendly and help other people also facing the same issue, open psd file with clipping mask correctly.

Thank you

1 Like

This sounds like a great feature to have! The easier Krita can work with other programs the better! :grin:
Welcome to the community!

1 Like

My suggestion is really to just ditch the PSD file format. that will only give you pain. But wanting to ditch PS and working with people that use it is a loosing battle you will have to work with it somehow :\

I would probably make some tests to see if EXR can hold its own to replace it.
It simply carries much more info inside it and far better, but I am not sure about active clipping masks at all but the mask itself should be inside it still somewhere.