Basic transformation of layers per frame in a timeline, non-destructively and automatically propagated

Personal note

I have 10 years of animation experience with multiple programs both 2d and 3d, both puppet and hand drawn, both professional in a studio and casually for fun, and if I had to point to one (relatively small) thing that Krita’s animation features are missing currently, it would be this. Implementing this would make the entire animation suite of Krita much more friendly to fbf animators.

Let’s start with who this would effect and why it would be such a major thing, before getting into what exactly it is.

The types of animators and who Krita’s animation tools are aimed at.

I personally would divide 2d animation into 2 main broad categories, because quite frankly I can’t think of any other types of animation besides maybe like procedural or AI-generated. Rig animation and frame by frame animation.
Krita devs have stated before on this forum that they are absolutely not looking at implementing any more advanced rigging or character control mechanics into Krita at this time, such as bones, symbols, controllers, etc. So it’s safe to say that Krita is not aimed at character rig animators. By process of elimination, I assume Krita is for frame-by-frame animators.

Animation is more about the slight changes than the extreme ones.

Yes, those weird anime scenes where characters are fighting at blinding speeds with crazy perspectives are cool, but most animation is much simpler. In fact, animation has entire laws within it that talk about the nuance of small movements, such as anticipation and follow-through.