Can I convert a selection into a path?

Hi,

While searching for a program to convert a selection into a path/vector, I stumbled onto Krita. So I’m a complete newbee. Also, English is not my native language, so what I write might be somewhat incomprehensible. :smile:

I was looking for this, because I want to do some car lettering. The company who will cut the adhesive film for me, needs a vector-file.

I have a psd-file with the text I want (can of course be saved as something else) made in Photoshop Elements, so not the pro-version where you can convert a selection into a path and save it as an eps file.
I can open that file in Krita and select the text, but can’t find out how to convert that selection into
a path and save it as a vector-file. I also can’t find anything about that in the instructions.
Is this even possible in Krita to create a file that this company can use for their plotter?

Thanks in advance for your answer.

Caroline

Hi Caroline,

It’s Ok, your english is not worse as mine :sweat_smile:

It’s seems to be possible to made this kind of conversion in Krita, but the result won’t be good enough for a company that will use it with a plotter and then cut it to made adhesive letters, because the selection to vector shape tools in Krita will convert the selection at pixel level.
Example:

Maybe I’m wrong and Krita offer a better vectorization process, but this one is the only one I know :sweat_smile:
If someone knows a better workflow with better results…

But if you really need to work with vector, the best open source software I know I think to vectorise an image and work on it is Inkscape.

You’ll find here the documentation page about Inkscape vectorize function:
https://inkscape.org/doc/tutorials/tracing/tutorial-tracing.html

Hope this can help you :wink:

Grum999