Collection of Books and Guides about Drawing and Painting

There are a few newcomers on the forum already who are not only new to Krita but to (digital) drawing and painting in general. For me it is a lot of fun looking at their works and telling them about one trick or the other or giving them advice, helping them improve or get over something that I’ve struggled with myself when I was a beginner.

Since this site is meant to be about improving ourself as artists I wondered if we should have a kind of wiki page or something where we put links to books, tutorials, guides etc. recommended by the Krita community grouped by Beginner, Intermediate and Advanced. That we collect in this thread maybe?

We even have a decent amount of professionals here, and I’m sure they know some really good resources. And this topic was totally not opened because I’m looking for stuff that helps me improve myself :wink:.

Books I can recommend:

• How to Draw: Drawing and Sketching Objects and Environments, by Scott Robertson
  • How to Render, also by Scott Robertson
  • Force: Animal Drawing: Animal locomotion and design concepts for animators, by Mike Mattesi

All three are definitely intermediate or even advanced material, I’d say.

There is an entire series about Force, I only have the animal drawing book (what a surprise, I know) but I heard that it’s actually the weakest of the series.

5 Likes

A few of my favorites… These are mostly traditional art books, but almost everything related to art fundamentals can be applied to any medium, digital or traditional.

• James Gurney - Color and Light: A Guide for the Realist Painter
  • James Gurney - Imaginative Realism: How to Paint What Doesn’t Exist
  • Andrew Loomis - (anything by him, but especially Drawing the Head and Hands and Figure Drawing for All It’s Worth)
  • Steve Huston - Figure Drawing for Artists: Making Every Mark Count
  • Richard Schmid - Alla Prima II