Deleting selection deletes the everything on the canvas

Good day,
I am really really new to Krita. I am hoping to use this tool to create tutorials on few research subject areas, mathematics and science. I went through the entire tutorial out on YouTube. I started with creating a new document with two layers (not sure I need two layers)… if I try to delete a section using the one of the rectangular and various other shapes to select and then press delete, sometimes it works and the selection is deleted but sometimes (more often), it deletes everything. for the life of me, I am not able to figure out what is causing this? I have spent hours and now really close to giving up.
My research and posts are volunteering effort.
Thank you in advance

Wonder if this is a bug.

Hi

You mean it delete the entire canvas? not only the selected area?

Grum999

Hello and welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

Can you take a full screen screenshot immediately after this happens and upload it in a reply here?
Please make sure that the Layers docker and the Tool Options docker are visible when you do this.
The Tool Options docker is usually on a tab next to the Advanced Colour Selector docker (if you’re using the Default workspace).

I remember the del key is traditionally set to ‘clear active layer’ so selections are not accounted for, it’s always the whole layer. I think it’s that way in Krita since forever and for me has become one of the most important shortcuts in early sketching phase.

On my side, the DEL key only clears the current selection, except if there’s no selection, in this case the current layer is cleared

If on your side the deletion is applied on all layer content even with a selection, could it be possible there’s an option somewhere? :thinking:

Grum999

I rarely have anything selected, so it could be that I just didn’t notice all the years x3. I use it as a quasi reset when I messed up a layer beyond fixing.