Digital Flower (Krita or Gimp)

I’m not very good at naming effects. A friend told me it looked like a digital flower… and I put that name. In this tutorial I will teach you how to do it in Krita, but you can also try it in Gimp, there will be little difference.

Before opening Krita, we will need two Gimp gradients, called: Blinds and Greens. On Windows you’ll find them at: C:\Program Files\GIMP 2\share\gimp\2.0\gradients. Copy the two gradients to: C:\Users\Username\AppData\Roaming\krita\gradients. When you open Krita, both gradients are already available (A).

Open a new file, the size is your choice, but the Width and Height must be the same for the effect to work. In the example, my file is 900 x 900 pixels, with 300 dpi resolution. Background color doesn’t matter, I chose red. Another important thing: activate the option “Snap Image Center”, in View > Snap To (B), in this way the gradients will be applied from the center of the image.

Let´s go! In the toolbox, select the Gradient Tool (blue circle). In the top bar, click the gradient button (indicated by the blue arrow) and from the list choose the Blinds gradient (C). Go on the right side of the your screen, in “Tool Options” (D). In “Shape”, select "Reverse Spiral" (1) and in "Repeat:", choose: “Forwards” (2) and leave the rest as shown in the image (3 and 4). (Thank you, Ahab and Sooz! :slight_smile: )

I reduced the image just to make it more obvious what will be done. As I said before, the background color doesn’t matter: anyway, the gradient will cover it. To apply the gradient, click on the center of the image (E), hold the Shift key and drag horizontally to the right, to the edge of the image. Release the mouse button and the gradient will be applied. If everything went well, your image will look like the picture on the right.