Digital Painting with Krita for beginners - Selection Masks

I wanted to share a tutorial that I recorded for complete beginners explaining masks and selection masks. here it is -

I hope it will be useful for some people.

11 Likes

Oh Good! I have a hellofalot to learn and need to focus on masks and selection masks in particular!

Thank You!

nice and clean video :wink:

i’ve notice something while watching it, you have icons in the differents menus that don’t show in my versions (4.4.7 - 5.0beta - 5.1alpha), is it a windows limitation or a potential issue?

in the video

my screenshots

This is the nightly build on Linux. The icons were added by @Animtim they should be in the beta I think if not there may be some setting to get them on windows. If this is the case for others too we must file a report

As far as I remember it is normal that icons in menu only show up on Linux… This is a kind of desktop-setting-related thing… I don’t remember the reason exactly why they are not shown on Windows, maybe @halla can remind the exact reason of this.

@raghukamath i don’t want to interfere in the thread, you can split it if you want :wink:
@Animtim thanks for the answer, it’s a shame for Winodows, it looks clearer with the icons…

@raghukamath That’s a well presented video with good pacing :slight_smile:

I have two questions abouit it:

1. Edit:Removed - I mis-saw something :frowning:

2. As a matter of interest and possible use for me, what do you use to get the sliding captions onto the video?

That’s really nicely done! :slight_smile: :+1:

Umm… I actually found it useful myself - so does that mean I’m a beginner?!! :yum:

I’ve never been a heavy user of selections/masks but I keep trying to improve my workflow for easier rendering and editing.