Krisenter - A plugin for viewing (and annotating) pdf's in Krita

Hello.

I’m a newbie as a developer (and user) to Krita. I started working on “Krisenter” - a plugin for viewing (and annotating) pdf slide presentations from within Krita.

I have some developer questions. Is there a API for dynamically adding (and removing) key-bindings? I’d like to override Left and Right within my plugin when “loading a pdf file” and restore them to their previous values at the end of the “presentation”. Is that possible?

Is there any library in Krita for converting a list of images into a multi-page pdf file? I am familiar with the cairo python binding, but I’d rather not pull in another dependency if there already is support in the Krita code base.

Hi

No

But Krita scripting can use PyQt5, and then you can generate PDF files from other files…
But it need some work :slight_smile:

I’ve implemented a function in BuliCommander to generate PDF files with multiple pages from file list.

Here a screenshot example (from release 0.4.0a)

If it can help you, the PDF export part is defined in bcexportfiles.py file.

Grum999

1 Like

Thanks for the tip and the code. After reading up some more on python pdf libraries I think that I’ll add the external dependency pikepdf though, as it has the advantage of allowing adding annotations to the existing pdf structure, without having to turn the input pages to raster. This suits better my usecase of adding annotations to an existing pdf file.

1 Like

:thinking:
Currently, only images are raster.
Text in generated PDF is vector and can be selected for copy/paste action…

Grum999

Ok. But that is still not enough for what I need, as I plan to read an already existing pdf file and then drawing overlays on top of the existing pages. Your use case is different as you are creating pdf files from scratch based on info within Krita.

Yes