Learning art methodically: how should I proceed now?

I wanted to take regular art classes this spring, but now it’s of course impossible.

So I thought: maybe I should take online courses? But in an actual art school located in my area, or something like Skillshare or Drawabox? Maybe you will have some ideas?

What I’m looking for:

• having exact exercises to do
  • I don’t really like long videos… I prefer just images. Videos are fine if they’re not too long and they’re not just “look how I draw a fox” without any speed-up
  • I’m not a complete beginner, I don’t think drawing 250 boxes is something I will have a patience to do - I’d like to skip most of the “learn how to make a nice line” exercises and go to anatomy or composition or stuff - I mean it can start there, just I won’t pay that much attention there
  • I want one complete course, can be divided into parts
  • can be portrait drawing, figure drawing, landscapes, can be everything - actually the more general art course, the better for my case
  • I wish to get critique on my progress…

What is my current level of art:

That’s of course hard to tell, but I’m a hobbyist that needs assessing and systematizing the knowledge, not really learning it from 0.

What I was thinking of:

• maybe art course organized by one of the art schools that prepare students for ASP, “the” art school, or for architecture uni courses; there are some online ones now, I could buy one and get both homework and critique hour once a week (on Skype, Discord etc.), for example. That would also help me keep motivated.
  • Drawabox? Cltr+Paint? Something like that? Drawabox really looks like it starts from drawing those boxes and focus more on creating pretty lines, so it’s fundamentals of the fundamentals… Ctrl+Paint series admits that the traditional drawing course is a bit limited. Other ideas?

Do you have some advice for me?

2 Likes