??Onion Skin??

Hi everyone! I’m new to animation and I’m trying to figure out how to use the onion skin.
I watched a lot of tutorials and as far as I understand, to make onion skin work I have to 1. Create blank frame, 2. Press that light bulb icon and that’s it. But for some reason, onion skin works only when I press create blank frame on every single frame. Do I need to create blank frame every time I enter a new frame?
P.S. I hope I made my problem clear and sorry for the shitty English as it’s not my first language :upside_down_face:

You should probably make a new layer first, it sounds as if you were working on the Background layer. It’s a tiny bit different from other layers.

No, I’m not working on the background layer

Some small and simple thing has not been done correctly.
Please post a full screen screenshot (.png) with the Layers docker and the Timeline docker visible.

Looking around the edges of your screenshot, you seem to have a krita window on top of another krita window.
It is possible to use krita in that way for separate documents and that may be how you like to do things.

Looking at your Timeline, you have an animated layer but you don’t have any content on it. You haven’t drawn anything.

The onion skins show a representation of the content on the previous and next frames content. You don’t have previous and next frame content.
You don’t have any content.

So, you need to start drawing/painting something on the frames before you’ll have any onion skins to see.

To create a new frame, you do have to use right-click Create Blank Frame but if you have Auto Frame Mode (on) set in the Animation docker, it will create a new frame when you start drawing on an empty frame.
It looks like you need the Animation docker to be turned on.

thank you for your reply)