Problem with Gradient Maps // Windows 10 x64

Hi everbody,

I have a problem with the gradient map tool with the latest 4.3.0 version and couldn’t find any related topics yet.
I cannot find the option to save new gradients and if I choose to create a filter mask instead of applying to the picture it doesnt show any colours.
Since I’m rather new to Krita I assumed it’s just my lack of knowledge but maybe it’s a bug.

If I open the gradient tool the options look lilke this:

no options showing.
If I click on the presets the bar showing the preset gradients are HUGE and can only display one gradianet at a time.

I expected a menu more like that (found on a youtube guide):

I know it’s a different version, but I assumed there would still be an option for saving gradients in updated versions.

Hello and welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

The presentation of available gradients in that filter mask/layer has changed from version 4.2.9 to version 4.3.0, as you described.
There has been a similar change in presentation, from 4.2.9 to 4.3.0, for palettes in the vector stroke/fill colour tool options.

Personally, I prefer the 4.2.9 presentation though the change may have been made to show a ‘larger/better’ image of the gradients and palettes.
Then again, it may be a bug that has been introduced.
I suggest that you wait to see if anyone knows anything about it. if not then you could raise a formal bug report here: https://bugs.kde.org/
If you do that, please put a link to the resulting bug report in a reply to this topic.

In 4.3.0 you can edit, create and save new gradients using the Gradients icon on the Toolbar:

This was a bug, and the bug has been fixed in the stable nightly builds.

Thank you for that heads-up Boud.
This isn’t the first time I’ve been reminded to check the nightly builds :man_facepalming:

Thanks a lot! It’s awesome to have such fast replies!

I’ll go and check the nightly builds.