There's something I've been always wondering about perspective assistant tools

Disclaimer : It is a very general practice of perspective tool in painting applications and not limited to Krita, so it’s not a criticism to Krita.

As far as I’ve seen, ‘perspective tool’ in general places vanishing points to make a perspective grid, and technically it can go extreme with the perspective, like this :

That being said we can technically draw buildings like this with the perspective tool :

But I think we all know it’s not realistic.
Isn’t it that there’s no way these kind of perspective could happen in natural reality?

If you think about a building, no matter how close you get to that building, the apex cannot be seen in less than 90 degree angle. (I’m no expert on these sort of things so I could be wrong, forgive me if so.)

So the question is that is there any limits or boundaries on perspective angle which maches the realistic perspective limit(perhaps : where lines from vanishing points meet in 90 degrees, on 2 point perspective for example?)?

If you’re about to post something like : ‘You can just place the vanishing points wider~’, please stop. Every single one of us know how to do it and that is not the point of this topic.

Does the 2-Point Perspective Assistant go some way to addressing this?
Call for Testing: 2-Point Perspective Assistant
(I know that you know about it. The link is for people who don’t know.)

1 Like

I’m not sure. I actually haven’t tested the new perspective tool in depth… I might add something later after I test it.
And thanks for adding the link. :slight_smile: