Viewing Different Layers on Different Monitors

I’m fairly new to Krita and I’ve been trying to set up my workspace to use on multiple monitors. Is there a way to make particular layers visible on one display and not on the other? I’ve currently got it set up to display the canvas on both monitors.

Any help is much appreciated!

You can configure Krita to display multiple documents in subwindows instead of tabs. This will allow you to have a working copy on one display and open the same file again and move the tab over to the 2nd display. I’m not sure you’ll get what you want but it’s worth a try.

To configure Krita this way, go to Settings, Configure Krita, General, Windows. Select subwindows instead of tabs.

Thanks Sooz. I’ve given your recommendation a go, although every change made to the visibility of layers affects both windows (which is to be expected I suppose). Thanks very much for your help anyway :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Oh well. It was worth a try. If you’re trying to capture unedited views of certain layers, what if you hid the layers you don’t want to see, export the views as a png or jpg, then bring them in as reference pics?

Also try composition docker. It helps in making set of compositions based on layer visibility etc.

I just gave that a shot and it seems as though even adding it as a reference image affects both screens. Unless you know of any way to use a reference image only on one screen?

Thanks again for the tip, however, this also affects both screens. Great idea though!

@origami_hero02 If you could explain why you want that arrangement, in terms of workflow and end result, etc., someone may be able to suggest another way of doing things.