What do you think is the most important thing in art to learn first?

Alright, let me give some context for this question. I would like to be of most assistance to people who are just picking up a creative hobby. Before lunging into making tutorials/ tips-&-tricks content, I wanted to figure out what topic I should cover first. What are your thoughts?

Patience, perseverance and the ability to learn for yourself.

4 Likes

I’d say to just make tutorials on what people want. A lot of beginner artists want to learn specific things such as male anatomy, female anatomy, eyes, hair, etc. Try specific topics that you think would appeal to a lot of people. Sorry I’m not very specific, but this was the first thing that came to my mind.

1 Like

I am a mostly self taught artist, but the one thing I got out of the few art classes I took that I would not have learned myself is that half of visual art isn’t learning to draw, it is learning to see.

Even if you aren’t going for realism, you need to start drawing from references, you need to learn to be a very careful observer of what is there, so you can pick and choose what you want to capture, and what you want to evoke with your work.

And drawing what is there rather than what your brain knows is there is tricky!

Foreshortening is hard, because you know that forearm pointing mostly towards you is a long tube, so you want to draw it as one, rather than the short stubby bit that you see.

Your brain knows the shape of a thing wants you to draw the outline of a thing even when there is a “lost edge” where the color of a thing at a certain point, often in shadow, is the same as the background.