Would be cool to see Krita start implementing open source AI tools

Hi, my name is Aslan. I’ve been making digital art for 18 years (starting in middle school with GIMP!), and I now work as a professional UX Designer. I have been making art using neural network tools for about 7 years now.

Lately I’ve been making a ton of stuff using a closed source model called Midjourney and Dalle2.

Dalle2 has some “inpainting” tools that are pretty neat. A little clunky in use and it’s not integrated into my actual art tools which is frustrating.

There’s tons of open source text to image models out there. Not as good as MJ or Dalle… yet… but stuff is advancing fast and even the basic existing tools are pretty awesome from an artistic perspective.

Adobe has been very slow to integrate the neural network advances. My guess is because so much of this stuff has been happening in the open source and academic research context. They can’t integrate GPL models into their commercial code perhaps?

But Krita could!

I think probably one of the best regarded open source models is Disco Diffusion: GitHub - alembics/disco-diffusion

I’ve also used VQGAN+CLIP.

I don’t know how realistic this suggestion is but I think it would be neat.

There’s also lots of other well trod neural network techniques out there like upresolution, and style transfer.

1 Like

There 1 million things to be done before AI gets even close to be a priority for Krita. But hey, you could just put it in yourself, if you want to.

The Krita team has already announced on several occasions that it doesn’t plan to integrate AI or Machine learning in the foreseeable future.

2 Likes

Totally fair!

Can’t wait until we don’t need to draw at all, we can just tell the computer to draw for us so there’s no way for artists to get a job ever again. The clients will be making work just as good as anything you can do. Perfect!