Lazy Text Tool(Prototype) – A plugin that helps you type

Let me say this so everyone is clear, I have never written python before(other than a minor change to an existing plugin). Add to the fact that a lot of this code has been rushed with little to no testing, please keep your expectations in check! TRY AT YOUR OWN RISK.

Here is what kinda works

Font:

Typing Text – yes Colors – yes Fonts – yes Font styling – yes

Line and alignment:

Letter spacing – yes Alignment – yes

Other:

Stroke – yes (same svg 1.1 though) Canvas scrolling - yes Moving – yes Custom fixed width boundary - yes

What partly works:

Canvas zoom – It works, but it is zoom to center, not zoom to mouse Line spacing – mostly

What doesn’t work:

Gradients – For both color and stroke, it isn’t hard to implement, just needs an interface and be hooked up

Canvas rotation

Word spacing – no

Transforms (rotation/scale) – No, currently, there is no easy way to get transformation/matrix data from svg Text in Krita and storing it is a pain too. That doesn’t mean there is no way. A few options are: A) Create the text item as a group, then get the data from the group item instead. (but then you won’t be able to edit the text files without ungrouping)

B) Get the data from the KRA file which is effectively a ZIP and stuff it into the id attribute (but this means the file would need to be saved)

C) Get the data via the Copy and retrieve it from there, then store it into the id attribute. (This is probably the most sure fire way to go about it but I think option D is better)

D) Add the things necessary to Krita 5.0 (This is what I am gonna try to do in my free time)

Important Restrictions/Features:

The current setting limits you to only edit layers that have no text object or 1 text object. (so no other shapes, no other text).