Which Tablet to buy for my needs

Hi All,

I am new to digital art and through Krita I have really come to love the medium, but I have a dilemma.

Looking at all the beautiful artwork on the forum, I assume most of you are using a drawing tablet and I would like to buy one so I have researched the 21-22in tablets online. I have found that Wacom is the standard for tablets, but Kamvas 22 has its own tablet with pluses too.

Wacom has the pen with the various flavour nibs, and you can’t go wrong with that, whereas Kamvas has the one size fits all plastic nibs. Both support 8192 pressure points.

However, Kamvas has the laminated screen (I hear it is better for artist ) wheras Wacom only has that screen for their 24in pro which is far too expensive for me.

Wacom has the remote hot key control panel for an extra cost, the Kamvas has the hot keys built it. Wacom, being the standard bearer, is more expensive than Kamvas. Both are 1920 x 1080 resolution .

There are pros and cons on both sides, so I am putting it out there, which tablet do you use and why is it the preferred tablet.

Thanks,

Dazed and confused !

1 Like

What OS are you on? If you’re on Mac, you might get issues with Huion. In general Mac is awful and in general Huion’s drivers are a bit worse than Wacom’s ones, but on Windows and Linux they mostly work…

Thank you for the reply…I am on Windows 10.

So do I understand that correctly that you’ve never worked with a tablet?

In my opinion, bigger is not automatically better, in fact I regretted getting an A4 Intuos way back (a used one anyway), it turned out out way too unwieldy, so I deliberately use a smaller one now. It may be less of an issue with a display tablet, but unless you’re the kind of artist that draws more moving the forearm rather than the wrist, you might realize that you don’t really need that area and just have to move your hand a lot unless you just pan the canvas anyway.