Creating a custom version of Krita / UI redesign

Hello everyone. This is my first post on the forum so I apologize if its in the wrong category or if I’m doing something very stupid, hope to learn along the way.
I’m creating this post because I had this idea to “streamline” Krita in some ways so I created some mockups for that purpose.

I’m not sure if this is allowed but what I had in mind was to, I guess fork (not sure if that’s the right word) Krita and remove a lot of the features that I don’t use and really focus in on the ones that I do use, improving them in some ways.

I would say that I’m very much so a novice programmer, but I’m willing to learn, and I do know that this is a probably a huge undertaking but I would like to give it a shot.
I’ve download Qt Creator and started tinkering with that so I would be able to use Krita’s code.
I have no experience with open source software so I don’t really know where to start with editing Krita’s code so if someone could point in me the right directions that would be greatly appreciated (I apologize if this is a really stupid question) and also any feedback on the mockup would be awesome

Thank you :smiley:

Here is the mockup

2 Likes

Hello and welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

I’m not a developer but I know that you’re setting yourself up for a massive undertaking and an ‘interesting learning experience’. (That’s a euphemism.)

There are many plugins available for krita that you can read about on this forum and that have been made by people on this forum.
Many of those can be used to ‘customise’ krita in various ways.
It may be a good idea if you explore the possibilities that they offer before you try to do things yourself.
You can also study the code for the plugins and have useful learning experiences.

I’ll leave it up to other people here, who know more about it than me, to make suggestions about which plugins may be useful for you and where you can get them from.

3 Likes