Useful Krita features

Hellow people, I have been using Krita since Christmas 2021 (at first, I was not a big fan of digital art as I always did traditional art) and I am a big fan of the software. I know some basic information about using the software (navigation, zoom in/out, layers, color selector, color palettes etc.) however I am looking to see if there are any other useful features that makes the entire process more fun/easier as I recently found out about the reference image tool (great tool if you never found or used it).

Edit: thanks everyone for the information, to elaborate on some information how I work. I use layers for a sketch, lineart, basic colors than shading. I also use references of animals and people often throughout the process. One of the features I don’t use often is the popup pallete (I know alot of people like it, I find it not working for me) but I do use the “Import Reasources” feature (I have a bunch of custom brushes including Rakurri’s brushes), the Palette docker (im in the process of making palettes based on copic marker colors) and the move/resize/transform tool pretty often.

1 Like

It’s always hard to tell what is useful for someone else since every artist has their own workflow and style. Naturally some useful things have no use for others while generally every feature in Krita has a use. It’s also hard to answer questions like this without really knowing what your needs and issues are we can only guess and mention random things.

Maybe this thread mentions some features you didn’t know about and are useful to you.

1 Like

For the 5.0 release, I made a short video about the krita features I personally use in everyday work:

Some of them are obvious, some quite hidden - basically those are the things I would be looking for while learning the app.

7 Likes

I have some of my favourite tricks as a series of small videos and plan to post more of them here :grin:

6 Likes

i find this plugin pretty essential: