Krita UI Redesign

Hey guys,

I really hope this doesn’t violate the majority-Krita-used guidelines because I’m creating this in Inkscape :sweat_smile: :cry: But I hope there’s an allowance because this is Krita-focused!

I’ve been having a think about how Krita’s UI could be improved to make tools and functions more legible and accessible, so I’ve started a mockup of these ideas!

I’ve never done mockups really before, so this is an interesting challenge.

I will explain my reasonings and changes in a later post, once I’ve covered basic additions like icons etc.

The faded dockers are still in progress, establishing a simple shape language is hard :neutral_face:

Feel free to add suggestions!

10 Likes

I would not like the design anyway. I actually prefer it close to the way it is as I do painting or editing on Krita, and the way it is right now is just right. But, I wouldn’t complain about popout toolbox sections. That’s something I’m supportive of.

However, I will admit this might be useful for mobile interface.

2 Likes

The popout toolbox sections are good, like sliding drawers.

Add: I drive my MATE desktop using popout toolbars with sliding drawers :slight_smile:

1 Like

Thanks for the advice guys!

Yea, I think the pop outs could help for beginners especially, if you’re spending a lot of time scanning the tool bar for the right tool.

That would be a good use for it! I sort of had a touchscreen response situation in mind when I was doing this :grin:

Seems like a great idea!

No problem on that front. I think this can be in the #develop:artists-feedback-testing category since you are giving a feedback and also providing a mock-up.

1 Like

Cheers for that!

Borrowing Blender’s workspaces idea is genius. There will be some technical issues but I guess we can easily figure that out.